Skip Navigation LinksBMA > About us > Board of Directors



Under the BMA Act, the functions of the Board of Directors are to manage the affairs and business of the BMA and to determine the policy objectives and strategy of the Authority. The Board consists of eight non-executive directors appointed by the Minister of Finance from the various sectors of industry. In addition the Minister appoints the Chairman of the Board. The Chief Executive Officer is also a member of the Board and is appointed by the Minister on the recommendation of the Board. To enhance independence, Board members are appointed for terms ranging from three to five years. Board conflicts are strictly managed in accordance with the Act.

One of the non-Executive Directors is appointed as Deputy Chairman and chairs the Non-Executive Directors’ Committee. This committee is responsible for:​

  1. Keeping under review the question whether the Authority is discharging its functions in accordance with the policy objectives and strategy determined by the Board;
  2. Keeping under review the question whether the Authority's internal financial controls secure the proper conduct of its financial affairs; and
  3. Determining the remuneration and other terms of service of the Executive Directors of the Authority.

Board Members

The Hon. Gerald D.E. Simons

Gerald Simons bio.pdfGerald Simons bio.pdf

Former President & CEO, The Argus Group

Com​mittees – C,H,N

Allan Marshall

Alan Marshall bio.pdfAlan Marshall bio.pdf

Deputy Chairman
Director and Consultant, Somers Real Estate Opportunity Fund Ltd.

Committees – A,I,N

​Sharon A. Beesley

Sharon Beesley bio.pdfSharon Beesley bio.pdf
CEO, BeesMont Law Limited - L,N

Walter A. Bell

Walter A Bell bio.pdfWalter A Bell bio.pdf

Chairman, Swiss Re America Holdings Corporation (retired)

Committees – H,N

Jeremy Cox​

Bermuda Monetary Authority, CEO 

Committees – C,I

Peter Hardy, OBE

Peter Hardy bio.pdfPeter Hardy bio.pdf

Group Corporate Secretary, Colonial Group (retired) - C,L,N
Michael Leverock

Michael Leverock bio.pdfMichael Leverock bio.pdf

President, Leverock Advisors & Associates                                       Committees - A,C,H,N

​Francine Mason

Francine Mason Bio.pdfFrancine Mason Bio.pdf
​Committees: N
​Robin Masters

Robin Masters bio.pdfRobin Masters bio.pdf
​Treasurer & Chief Investment Officer, ACE Limited (retired) - I,L,N
​James Newsome ​Committees: N
Tracy  Tepper

​Director, Lombard Odier Trust (Bermuda) Limited (retired)

Committees – A,H,N

​Karel Van Hulle

Karel Van Hulle bio.pdfKarel Van Hulle bio.pdf
Professor at KU Leuven and Goethe University Frankfurt, Member of the IRSG of EIOPA and Member of the Public Interest Oversight Board - N
Board Committees Legend
A – Audit & Risk Management Committee
C – Corporate Governance & Ethics Committee
H – Human Capital Committee
I – Investment Committee
L – Legislative & Policy Committee
N – Non-Executive Directors Committee​​