Skip Navigation LinksHome > AIFMD > Overview




The Bermuda Monetary Authority has signed cooperation agreements with the majority of European Union (EU) Member States in relation to the Alternative Investment Funds Managers Directive (AIFMD).

These cooperation agreements are a key element in effective supervision of non-EU alternative investment funds managers (AIFMs) under the AIFMD, and are a pre-condition in allowing non-EU AIFMs access to EU markets or to perform fund management activities on behalf of EU managers.

The Authority’s ongoing work on this initiative also involves a legislative review of our regime and appropriate adaptations in relation to the oversight of Bermuda-based investment managers. This work will ensure that investment managers may fully participate in European markets from Bermuda and reinforces our position as a competitive jurisdiction for the global funds sector.

Listed below are the EU states that signed the AIFMD MOU:


Finanzmarktaufsicht ​Austria
Financial Services and Markets Authority Belgium
Financial Supervision Commission Bulgaria
Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission Cyprus
Czech National Bank Czech Republic
Finanstilsynet Denmark
Estonian Financial Supervision Authority Estonia
Finanssivalvonta Finland
Autorite des marches financiers France
​Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) Germany
Hellenic Capital Market Commission Greece
Penzugyi Szervezetek Allami Fellugyelete Hungary
Fjarmalaeftirlitio Iceland
Central Bank of Ireland Ireland
Finansu un kapitala tirgus komisija Latvia
Finanzmarktaufsicht Liechstenstein
Bank of Lithuania Lithuania
Commission de Survellance du Sector Financier Luxembourg
Malta Financial Services Authority Malta
Finanstilsynet Norway
Polish Financial Supervision Authority Poland
Comissao do Mercado de Valores Mobiliarios Portugal
Romanian Financial Supervisory Authority Romania
Narodna banka Slovenska Slovak Republic
Finansinspektionen Sweden
Autoriteit Financiele Markten The Netherlands
Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom